The countdown has begun

Well, my orders officially started yesterday.  I can officially start counting down the days to when I get back.  Tonight is my last night at home and Lauren and I are just having a quiet evening together.  Its really nice to have had the opportunuty to spend time together before I left.  I really couldnt have asked for a better situation.

I aplogize for not having posted in a while but as I hinted above, I took a few weeks off work to spend with Lauren, and well, thats what I did.  I’ve got a whole lot of new pictures that I will be posting, so be looking forward to that.

Anyways, all I can say at this point is that everything feels really surreal.  I really cant get my head around the fact that tomorrow I leave for war.  I feel like I am bi-polar.  One moment I feel totally normal, just like any other day.  The next moment it hits me: I get that pit in my stomach and my throat tightens up.  I think about not seeing my wife for a year and being half way around the world.  I feel like I’m going to pass out.  I just stop and pull myself together and in a minute, I’m fine again.

I feel ready.  I’ve been thinking about this deployment every day for what seems like forever.  I’ve been training for 10 months.  My bags are packed and sitting by the door.  All the paperwork is done and I have the Army’s ‘stamp of approval’ stating I am physically and mentally ready to be deployed.  I need to go.  At this point I would rather get on with it and work towards getting home than sitting and waiting to be taken away.

I have a million things running through my head, but I think this will do for now.

Its about to get interesting…

One Response

  1. the mission at hand is all that needs to be on your mind, take it one thing at a time and before you know it, your time in Afghanistan will be over and you will be back home with us. so don’t worry so much and keep focused =].
    Love&Support,
    your little brother

Leave a Reply

