Merry Christmas from Afghanistan!

2008-12-25_0138
I know I’m a bit late, but I wanted to talk about my Christmas. It was interesting to say the least.

Last week, Top and I made good friends with the Romanians working on the same FOB as us. When there are so few people living together for so long, you want to make as many friends as possible, and hey, I’ve never met a real vampire before!

Anyways, besides being amazing and VERY seasoned soldiers (all are senior enlisted, most are international special forces and some have quite a few confirmed kills. They all work in long range recon…) they are very cool guys. They were happy to have us as new friends so they invited us to come to another base where the rest of their guys were to celebrate Christmas. There wasnt a whole lot going on here and I had never celebrated Christmas the Romanian way so we went.

The others we met were some of the nicest, coolest guys I’ve ever met. We ate a ton of new foods I had never had before (most of which were excellent, except for the pig guts… yuck) smoked cigars and told us a bunch of Romanian jokes. By the way, did you know that Vladamir’s castle is not actually in Transylvania? Neither did I!

Anyways, it was a lot of fun and we made a lot of new friends. I think if I ever get the chance to visit Romania, I will have some friends to visit as well.

Leave a Reply

