Earthquakes, really?

So 2 nights ago, I was awoken at 1:00 in the morning by my whole room shaking violently. My locker was banging against the wall and stuff was falling off my desk. I had no idea what the hell was going on. I thought we were getting attacked my rockets/mortars or something.

I jumped up and starting throwing my gear on and getting ready to run to the bunkers when I realized what I wasnt hearing: No booms, no flashing lights, and no sirens. Only shaking.

After that someone filled me in on what was going on, but man was my heart racing that night. It took me a while to get back to sleep. The next day after doing some research, I found that Afghanistan is hit fairy normally with earthquakes. In fact, I felt a smaller one again last night! I knew what it was right away, so there was no panicking or jumping out of bed this time.

Man I have no idea how people can get used to this though…

3 Responses

  1. I’ve never been in an earthquake, but I imagine my reaction would probably be to fire wildly in every direction.

  2. I had no idea earthquakes were so common there either…good luck with that!!!

    • yeah. havent had another one yet, but every time someone starts bumping around or hitting the walls at night I think another one is starting!

Leave a Reply

