Mountain climber

So last Friday I climbed our local mountain, the Gharib Ghar. My buddy talked me into it the night before because he really wanted to do it, although I could think of better things to do at 5:00 AM on my day off, such as sleep. In the end, I found myself walking up to the base of the mountain for what I thought would be a piece of cake. After all, I did quite a bit of scrambling around the hills in Oklahoma and the badlands in the past. I failed to take into account that I was sitting at about 6500 ft elevation, and then climbed anouth 1500-2000 feet that morning. By the time I was 2/3 of the way up I was dizzy and light-headed. I thought I was going to puke!

I really didnt think I would make it all the way to the top, but my buddy was ahead of me and there was no way I was going to let him make it and me not.

I am really glad that I went because it was a fairly clear morning and the sights from the top were beautiful. I took some great pictures (which I will upload soon). Not to mention it was awesome exercise! Once the weather gets nice again, we will probably start incorporating the climbs into our weekly exercise routine!

3 Responses

  1. Hey Joe, I googled your mountain and saw some pictures of it. Pretty impressive!!

    • im kind of surprised you could find it online. its a pretty small mountain compared to everything else around here.

  2. The pictures were all posted by soldiers who had climbed the mountain. I didn’t find any informative sites or anything…

Leave a Reply

