Promotion, finally!

Yesterday I finally got my black bar! That means I was promoted from 2LT (which wears a gold bar, aka butter bar, hence the flattering nickname “Butters”) to 1LT (which wears a black bar, and no nicknames that I am yet aware of).

Apparently I am now able to start sentences with the phrase, “In my experience…” without people bursting into laughter. I have yet to try it out though…

Anyways, I am very glad that I got the promotion, and will be even happier when I get my back pay from the pay increase 🙂

I’ll post some pictures when I get them from the public affairs guy who was photographing the ceremony.

7 Responses

  1. CONGRATULATIONS!!!! and I hope you’re feeling better, I can’t believe you got dysentery!!

  2. Congrats!! What’s after 1LT?

  3. Congratulations Son!.!!!
    What is the promotion back date?

  4. Congrats dear!!! I’m really excited that it finally happened! And more pay, woo hoo!!! 🙂 Call me soon, miss hearing your voice! 😉

    • next is Captain, but I’ve got about another 4 years before that happens.

      this promo was back dated to Nov 13th (the day I became eligible for 1LT), which means 2 month of back pay are headed my (and Lauren’s) way!! woo!

      Thanks everyone!

  5. Congratulations Joe!!!
    I’m so proud of you! We all are! Sorry I haven’t written sooner, I think of you very often. I enjoy this website and seeing the pictures and hearing about what you are doing, all things considered you seem to be doing well.
    Take care, we love you,
    Aunt Vickee

  6. Way to go Joe!! Congrats on the promotion. Glad you are feeling better. Great job on the site. Hope you like all the junk being sent your way. Be sure to share now. ha ha. Just let Lauren know what else you may need and it’ll be on the way. Miss you.

Leave a Reply

