Graduation day

Well, the first class of new officers since I’ve been here graduated today.  I must say that I felt proud.  Not because I taught these students myself.  Heck I dont even know any of their names.  No, I was proud because I helped the commander, staff, and instructors produce high quality ANA (Afghan National Army) officers through mentorship while dealing with about 1/3 of the staff we are suppose to have, 250% more students than we should have, and virtually no equipment.  Everything we have we had to beg borrow and steal (not really!) to get.

I think the cadre have done well and I look forward to seeing them grow and improve even more while I’m here.the Man Dance!

Here is a picture of a great ANA tradition after the graduation ceremony.  Kam, my interpreter, calls it the “Man Dance.”  Enjoy!

4 Responses

  1. Well done Joe!
    Do you start with a new group right away?

    • they started 2 weeks ago… lol

      we work at 300% capacity, with 50% of our staff, and 0% of our equipment…

      its too easy =)

  2. There were a few people at the Commander in Chief ball from Task Force Phoenix that spoke with Obama via satellite, all from Illinois. Anybody you know?

  3. Congratulations Joe!

Leave a Reply

