Diet and Workout Help

So in the last few weeks, I’ve really started getting committed to this whole fitness thing.  I have the perfect opportunity to start some good habits that will make the rest of my life healthier, happier and longer (Inshallah!)

Of course, I didn’t really know anything about it or where to start, so as usual, I hit the internet.  I have found some sites and really learned a lot.  I have spent a lot of time researching and making a game plan and I’m dedicated enough to stick to it.

I’ve also found a few very useful tools out there too.  Obviously diet is extremely important while also being something I know absolutely nothing about.  Check out this site  M & S Nutrition to learn how many calories you should be taking in and how to break that down by Fats, Carbs and Proteins.  I about gave up then because I figured there was no way that I would be able to track all that!  Who knows how many grams of fat are in the turkey sandwich I ate for lunch?  Not me!  That’s when I found FitDay.  Its a site that helps you keep track of your diet and has a vast database with many of the foods you already eat.  If something isn’t on there, you can create custom foods too!  It really makes it easy and fun to plan meals for the day.  It makes it VERY easy to meet your nutrition goals.

Just to share, my personal Daily Calorie intake is 2600 (a 500 cal deficit to help lose weight) with 40% carbs, 40% protein and 20% fat.  I lift 3 days a week and do cardio 5 days (overlappign on weight days, with Fridays off.  I also use Friday as my cheat day for meals.)

If this motivates anyone else to make some changes, let me know.  Support is always helpful!

3 Responses

  1. I’m a proponent of the “stop eating so much” diet. So far, it hasn’t worked well for me.

  2. I have really been working on healthy eating lately (for the baby). But I don’t count calories….I’m more of the try to get 4 fruits, 4 veggies, some protein, etc in each day kinda planner. I think that what you are doing would take a lot of dedication. Good luck!!!

  3. @Niki – its good that your eating well and I wouldnt worry about counting calories right now for you (for OBVIOUS reasons!). Maybe afterwards if your trying to get back to your starting weight would this be helpful. I thought it would be way more cumbersome than it really is at first too. Its easy to keep track of the foods and plug them in, plus its a motivator!

    @Mike – well, thats a start… are you still hitting the gym during lunch? Are you trying to lose weight?

Leave a Reply

