How To – Google Alerts

While working at CDW last year, I started using google alerts to keep up to speed on what was happening with my clients’ businesses.  Since then I have found many uses for this powerful tool.  Its not one of google’s most popular or well known features, so I thought I would share this with those who have never heard of it.

Check out http://www.google.com/alerts to get started.  You can add criteria for google to search the web for and send you articles, blog entries, news releases, etc… based on a few options and settings.  For example I have alerts set for “Afghan National Army,” “Camp Alamo,” and “JoeGeis.”  By the way, there is a pro surfer out there with the same name as me.  I get a lot of results for him, lol.  I wonder if he would like to trade places?

Anyway, it’s a great way to get information on topics that arent super popular or easy to find.  For example, I wouldn’t set up an alert for something like “Obama,” or “Afghanistan.”  You would just get too many results.  A lot of the time the info isnt quite what I’m looking for, but its easy and does turn up some real nuggets at times.

Enjoy!

2 Responses

  1. Michael Gardner is far too common on google for my liking (80000 hits, as opposed to 161 for Joe Geiselman). Sadly I’ll never know if people are talking about me, at least not on the interwebs.

    PS, I know you’re probably incredibly booked while you’re home, but if you’d like to arrange something with some work buddies, I’d be happy to get you a keg.

  2. haha, thanks Mike. I have no idea if that would work. I am having a party in the suburbs next Friday night if your interested in making the trek though.

Leave a Reply

